Washington County
Government
Administrative Building
116 Adams St.
PO Box 1007
Plymouth, NC 27962
Phone: 252-793-5823
Fax: 252-793-1183
Email: jbennett@washconc.org

FaceBook
Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
EMS Director: Andrew Coccaro
Washington County EMS
1 Medical Plaza
P.O. Box 96
Plymouth, NC 27962

Phone
252-793-7636  Ph
252-793-7744  Fax

Email
EMS: ems300@washconc.org
Transport:  transport@washconc.org

Click Here to Download Report
(Power Point Presentation)

EMS Personnel Contacts
Andrew Coccaro
EMS Director
Phone: 793-7636
Email: acoccaro@washconc.org
   
James Stokes
EMT Basic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jstokes@washconc.org
   
KimiAnn Corey
F/T EMT Intermediate
Phone: 793.7636
Email: kcorey@washconc.org
   
Vincent Lloyd
F/T EMT Intermediate
Phone: 793.7636
Email: vlloyd@washconc.org
   
Becky Davis
F/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: bdavis@washconc.org
   
Jessica Hudson
F/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jhudson@washconc.org
   
Allen Pearson
F/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: apearson@washconc.org
   
Jeanette Daniels
P/T EMS Intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jdaniels@washconc.org
   
Janice Brickhouse
P/T EMS intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jbrickhouse@washconc.org
   
Michael Weatherington
P/T EMS Intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: mweatherington@washconc.org
   
Bruce Hardison
P/T EMS Intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: bhardison@washconc.org
   
James Aydelette
P/T EMT Intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jaydelette@washconc.org
   
Shannon Sykes
P/T EMT-Basic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: ssykes@washconc.org
   
Juanita Lewis
P/T EMT-Basic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jlewis@washconc.org
   
Tonya Ayers
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: tayers@washconc.org
   
Lisa Drygas
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: ldrygas@washconc.org
   
Steve Anderson
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: sanderson@washconc.org
   
Jessica Nortman
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email:
   
Jerry Gray
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jgray@washconc.org
   
Jeff Hibbard
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jhibbard@washconc.org
   
Annie Carr
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: acarr@washconc.org
   
Crystal Freeman
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: cfreeman@washconc.org
   
Wendy Swain
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: wswain@washconc.org
   
Marvin Manning
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: mmanning@washconc.org
   
Patricia Ojala
P/T Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: pojala@washconc.org
   
Ronrick Credle
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: rcredle@washconc.org
   
Jennifer Paul Hellickson
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: jpaul@washconc.org
   
Harriet Dehart
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: hdehart@washconc.org
   
Deborah Jalali
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: djalali@washconc.org
   
Jennifer O'Neal
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: joneal@washconc.org
   
Linda Simpson
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: lsimpson@washconc.org
   
Angela Toppin
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: atoppin@washconc.org
   
Marie Wallace
Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: mwallace@washconc.org
   
Denise Sawyer
Paramedic, Tyrrell Co. Division
Phone: 793-7636
Email: dsawyer@washconc.org
   
Adam Culbertson
Part Time Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: aculbertson@washconc.org
   
Alan Smith
Part Time Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: asmith@washconc.org
   
Elaine Lancaster
PT EMT Basic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: elancaster@washconc.org
   
Cecil Jones
PT EMT Intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: cjones@washconc.org
   
Michael Martin
PT EMT Intermediate
Phone: 793-7636
Email: mmartin@washconc.org
   
Annie Carr
PT Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: acarr@washconc.org
   
EMS Transport Personnel
Wendy Ambrose
EMT Intermediate - Full Time
Phone: 793-7636
Email: wambrose@washconc.org
   
Andrey Low
P/T Transport (EMT-Basic)
Phone: 793-7636
Email: alow@washconc.org
   
Dondrea Basnight
P/T Transport (EMT-Basic)
Phone: 793-7636
Email: dbasnight@washconc.org
   
Sacha Pledger
F/T Transport (EMT-Basic)
Phone: 793-7636
Email: spledger@washconc.org
   
Andrew Rullman
F/T Transport (EMT-Basic)
Phone: 793-7636
Email: arullman@washconc.org
   
Lauren Simmons
F/T Transport Coordinator/Paramedic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: lsimmons@washconc.org
   
Kevin (Andy) McKeel, Jr.
P/T EMT-Basic
Phone: 793-7636
Email: kmckeel@washconc.org
   
Welcome to Washington County Emergency Medical Services. Please contact our office if you have questions.

Mission Statement
The Emergency Medical Services department is a system of highly trained professionals focusing on the Pre-hospital Delivery of medicine. Our mission is to serve all of our customers focusing on delivering high quality care to the sick and injured. We will strive to provide competent, compassionate, and professional serve all of our customers’ needs by continually raising our standards.

Vision Statement
Our EMS system will strive for excellence in prehospital medicine by constantly raising the level of education and skill level of our providers. With this focus in mind, advancement and the delivery of Para-medicine will significantly impact our delivery of service. We will be integrated with other healthcare providers and public agencies which will result in an improved community health care system and a more appropriate use of acute healthcare resources.
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) of the future will continue to be a community-based healthcare service that is fully integrated with the overall healthcare system. It will have the ability to identify and modify illness and injury risks; provide acute illness care and follow up; and contribute to the treatment of chronic conditions and community health monitoring.

About Washington County EMS
Washington County EMS is the sole provider of Paramedic pre-hospital services to the entire population of Washington County. Our coverage area is approximately 332 sq land miles with large bodies of water surrounding the county and one lake. Call volume average approximately 3,000+ EMS calls and 1,200 Medical Transport calls a year. Washington County EMS also has a Command & Support unit that responds to assist with large scale incidents, in and around neighboring districts for support functions. This is a Support Unit that has communication and full rehabilitation capabilities including HVAC and refrigerator/freezer units.
Medic units are staffed with personnel that respond to emergencies to assess and treat patients and also transfer patients to other tertiary facilities.

Washington County also has a State Medical Assistant Team (SMAT-III) that also responds to disasters and provides treatment, de-con, triage and medical support.

Washington County also provides a Non-emergency Medical Transport service that provides transportation of its county residents for out-patient procedures, physician follow-ups, and doctor’s appointments. Call for appointments and scheduling at 252-793-7636 Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 5:00pm.

Washington County EMS currently employs approximately 28 full-time EMS personnel and 4 full-time Medical Transport personnel. We also have a part-time pool of 24 EMS personnel that provide coverage for sickness, time off requests and other openings in our schedule.

Most EMS personnel work a fixed 24-hour schedule. Crews respond to many calls during their shifts. It is not unusual for crews to work the entire shift without the convenience of a normal meal time or personal breaks. On an average day, Washington County EMS answers an average of 9 calls a day with as many as 15-20 calls a day.

Washington County 911 Center;

Washington County Central Communications 9-1-1 is the first point of contact for most citizens requesting emergency medical assistance. The PSAP partnership between Washington County and its townships of Plymouth, Roper and Creswell answers 9-1-1 calls from citizens located inside Washington County and in the remaining portion of the county.

EMS Billing
Ambulance billing is a very specialized business which requires a great deal of time and effort to process appropriately. Colleton Software based out of Erwin, NC, is such a company that works solely with ambulance bills which Washington County EMS contracts with to process all its ambulance claims; all payments go directly to Washington County accounts on a daily basis. This service provides you with dedicated staff to handle your healthcare claims needs, allowing Washington County EMS to continue to work hard to provide you with the best medical care possible.

For any questions about our billing process or bills please contact Colleton software at 844-479-3227

EMS Employment FAQs
To be considered for employment with Washington County Emergency Medical Services, you must meet the following qualifications:
  • High school graduate or GED certificate
  • Must not have committed or been convicted of a felony or serious misdemeanor
  • Able to meet the physically demanding requirements of the job
  • Be a United States citizen
  • Have or be able to obtain a valid North Carolina driver's license
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a North Carolina certified Emergency Medical Technician or a nationally registered Emergency Medical Technician
What do I need to do to get a job with the Washington County Emergency Medical Services?
Submit a completed application. Visit the Washington County Government website@ www.washconc.org
  • Pre-employment Testing (Written Test)
  • Background Investigation
  • Complete a formal interview process
    (no particular order)
Is there an age requirement?
Yes, all applicants must be at least 18 yrs. old.

Do I have to become EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) certified to work for Washington County Emergency Services?
Yes, Washington County Emergency Services employs all EMS levels but EMT-Basic certification is the minimum qualification for employment. In addition to the EMT certification, all employees must have a valid operator’s license and be CPR certified.

How do I become certified as an EMT (Emergency Medical Technician)?
The EMT-Basic course is offered by most community colleges. For more information contact your local community college.

What does the EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) course include?
This course is designed to train individuals to become emergency medical personnel. The student is exposed to emergency patient care through both classroom training and hands-on application. Topics include patient assessment, basic life support techniques (including airway management and CPR), oxygen therapy, treatment of shock, treatment of fractures, management of various medical emergencies and emergency childbirth. Upon successful completion of this course, the student will be eligible to take the North Carolina OEMS Basic

Emergency Medical Technician certification exam.
For more information regarding the North Carolina EMT requirements, visit: www.ncems.org

Do I have to live in Washington County?
No.

Benefits
Please visit the Human Resources Department page.

When will the next Washington County EMS interviews be held?
Future interview dates have not been set at this time. Applications are taken on a year-round basis and are held for a year.
 
How long does new employee orientation last?
The new employee orientation is currently a 4 to 6 week period. During this time, all employees undergo training in topics like equipment orientation, navigation, scene operations, infectious diseases, driving and much more.
 
© Copyright 2009, Washington County Government, All rights reserved
Site design by Interactive Communications, Inc.